UK National Committee for Heat Transfer: Academic Prizes

Academic Prizes:

UK National Committee for Heat Transfer

The UK National Committee for Heat Transfer (see offers to students and researchers at UK Universities active in the field of heat transfer a series of prizes. The first prize, for a PhD thesis, was first awarded at the UK Heat Transfer Conference hosted by The University of Nottingham in 2019. Additional prizes will cover two more categories of project – those presented in Undergraduate and MSc individual reports. The prizes, which are awarded every two years, will be awarded at the next UK National Heat Transfer Conference, to be held at The University of Manchester from 5-7 September, 2021. They will be financial in nature (£500 and a trophy for the PhD prize and £250 and a Certificate for each of the other prizes) and include free admission for the winner(s) to the UK Heat Transfer Conference.

The Committee has identified two major themes under which the awards should be considered:

  1. Technical/Scientific excellence
  2. Innovation/Commercial impact

The first prize will be the ‘Geoffrey F. Hewitt Prize for best PhD thesis in Heat Transfer’. As well as being a world leader in heat transfer, Professor Hewitt was a long-standing member and Chairman of the UK Heat Transfer Committee, and this Prize is seen as a way of perpetuating his memory as well as recognizing the importance of heat transfer across many areas of academia.

Theses for PhD’s awarded by UK Universities in the period between 1st January 2019 and 31st December 2020 where the main topic is Heat Transfer will be eligible for the Prize. Entries must be received by 31 March 2021. An electronic copy of the PhD thesis and a support letter from the Supervisor explaining the merits of the work need to be sent to with a copy to on or before the above closing date.

With regard to the Undergraduate (BEng/MEng) and MSc individual project reports, an electronic copy of the report and a supporting letter from the supervisor should be sent to David Reay and copied to the UK National Heat Transfer Committee, as per the emails above.  Note that for these awards the BEng/MEng should have been completed in the 2020/21 Academic Year and submitted by 30 June 2021.  Submissions for the MSc award should be submitted by 30 November 2020 for the 2019-2020 Academic Year. Please note that submissions are limited to one within each category per supervisor.

More information here.